Fifty years to the minute from the start of the Ceremony of Solemn Opening of the Church of Saint Peter in Chains, a commemorative mass began in the church. At 12 o’clock midday on Sunday 2 October 1988, the Bishop of Galloway, Maurice Taylor and other priests celebrated Mass.

Clergy participating were:
  Father Patrick Burns, Verona Father, Ardrossan
  Father Antonio Colombo, Verona Father, Ardrossan
  Father Michael Lynch, Parish Priest of the Church of Saint Peter in Chains
  Father Charles Matthews, formerly of the Church of Saint Peter in Chains
  Canon Nicholas Murphy (1919-92), Church of Our Lady, Star of the Sea, Saltcoats
  Father Paul O’Brien, Church of Saint Peter in Chains
  Bishop Maurice Taylor, Bishop of Galloway who was the principal celebrant
  Canon John Walls, formerly of the Church of Saint Peter in Chains

The altar servers included:
  Colin Harvey
  Bernard McCormick
  Chris McEvoy
  Harry Sammons
  Joseph Sammons
  Liam Timpany

Members of the choir were:
  Josephine Brown
  Anne Bull
  John Cosgrove (1920-1996) who conducted the choir
  Jim Donnelly
  Moira Donnelly
  Margaret Harvey
  Richard Harvey
  Jimmy Love (1920-1996)
  Janet Procter
  Felix Quigg (1922-1994)
  Robin Reid who played the organ
  Mary Sammons
  Margaret Swiercz
  Monica Taylor

Members of the congregation included:
  John Anderson
  Bill Andrew
  Celia Andrew
  Claire Andrew
  Craig Andrew
  Graham Andrew
  Julie Andrew later Julie Coldwell
  Stuart Andrew
  David Atkins
  Josephine Atkins
  Tom Atkins (1925-2010) who was a passkeeper
  John later Father Boyce
  Sheila Boyle who was a Eucharistic Minister
  Willie Breslin
  Benet Brodie
  Donald Brown
  Isa Brown
  Mary Brown
  Peg Brown neé Welsh (1913-1991)
  John Byers (1924-1991)
  Bernard Carlin
  Mary Carlin
  Albert Carrino (1934-2009)
  Jim Carroll
  Moira Connor
  Frank Coulter senior
  Frank Coulter
  Gerry Coulter
  James Coulter
  Josephine Coulter
  Sheila Coulter
  Donald Cullinane (1927-2009)
  Tony Da Prato
  Mary Dalziel
  Bessie Delahunt (1934-2006)
  Jim Delahunt
  Anne Duncan
  Alison Dunn (1974-1994)
  Kate Dunn
  Maggie Edmond (1892-1996) who, aged 95 years, was the oldest parishioner
  Alison Erskine
  Terry Erskine
  Robert Ferguson (1930-2005)
  Chrissie Ferguson (1925-2006)
  Carol Gee
  David Gee
  Douglas Gee
  Bert Gilmour (-2017)
  James Grant
  Charlie Gribben (1927-2002)
  Marade Griffin
  Christopher Harvey
  Edward Harvey
  Margaret Harvey
  Michelle Harvey
  Richard Harvey
  Jessie Hazelton neé McMahon (1925-2007)
  Christopher Hendry
  Colin Hendry
  Jamesina Hendry
  John Hendry
  George Hilferty
  Maria Hilferty
  Addie Hissey neé McCabe (1907-2009)
  Audrey Hunter
  Danuta Hunter
  Jason Hunter
  John Hunter
  Frank Kelly
  Margaret Kelly
  Larry Kernahan (1920-1998)
  Agnes Long neé McQuade (1923-2006)
  Denis Long (1921-2005)
  Lisa Mack
  Mary Mathieson
  Jimmy McAloon
  Mary McCabe
  Andrew McCarroll (1927-1996)
  Marie McCormick
  Marion McDermott
  Matt McDonald who was a Eucharistic Minister
  Catherine McEvoy
  Kathleen McEvoy
  Pamela McEvoy who was a reader
  Anne McEwan
  Jim McEwan
  Henrietta McGonigle
  Joe McGoogan
  Alice McGrattan
  Anne McGrattan
  Anne McGrattan
  George McGrattan
  Stephen later Father McGrattan
  Tom McGrattan
  Kenny McGuire
  Theresa McGuire
  Ennis McHugh
  James McLaughlin (1919-2009)
  Winnie McLaughlin
  Andrea Mealey
  Angela Mealey
  Brenda Miller
  Bill Mitchell who was a reader
  Charlotte Mitchell
  John Mitchell
  Gerry Monan (1940-1995)
  Margaret Monan
  Kathleen Moran
  Terry Morgan
  David Munn
  Margaret Munn
  Jimmy Murphy (1916-1997)
  Jean Murray
  Michael Murray
  Patricia Murray
  Jimmy O’Neill
  Julia Paterson (1917-2017)
  June Piacentini
  Ralph Piacentini
  Esther Quigg
  Margaret Quigg
  Pat Quigg
  Lindsey Reid
  Maria Reid
  Robert Reid
  Seamus Reilly
  Myriame Sammons
  Catherine Scullion
  Jimmy Scullion
  Sister Mary Annunciata (1916-2008)
  Sister Clement
  Sister Elizabeth
  Sister Pius
  Sister Vincent
  Margaret Spencer (1913-1992)
  Jean Taylor (-2006)
  Annie Thompson who was a Eucharistic Minister
  Jean Thompson who was the Minister of the Evangelical Union Church, Ardrossan
  Mary Timmons (1916-2011) who was present at the Ceremony of Solemn Opening on 2 October 1938
  Peter Timmons
  Willie Timpany who was a passkeeper
  Frank Tracey
  John Tracey
  John Walsh
  Margaret Whiston

If you know of anyone else who should be included in the above list, please contact